Client data resides in the cloud, which is to say on a server managed by Amazon Web Services (AWS). This platform is known for it's security, reliability and ability to quickly scale up based on demand, and to provide fail safe mechanisms in the event of server failure where we have the ability to quickly spawn a new "instance" of our server to get back up and running with very little service interruption to our clients. Companies like NetFlix rely on AWS as their backbone to stream thousands of movies to almost 100 million users worldwide. Netflix operates “many tens of thousands of servers and many tens of petabytes of storage” in the Amazon cloud, Netflix VP of cloud and platform engineering Yury Izrailevsky in an interview recently. So needless to say, we are in good company by tapping into the vast resources available at Amazon.
SOVA operates simply as a steward of your data, maintaining data integrity through regular backups, running security vulnerability testing on our server infrastructure, etc. We do not claim ownership of your data nor use it in any way, outside of what is required to provide our service.
Data extraction may be necessary for a couple different reasons, Some reasons for performing a data extraction would be to:
Both options above will result in data being extracted from our database and saved as a SQL file. Media such as images, video, audio, DOC or PDF files that you have stored in our cloud would be compressed as zip files and placed in media folders. These files would be stored temporarily in a secure repository and you would be provided with a password and link to download your files.
If you choose to discontinue service with us, you would have the option of maintaining your data on our servers for a period of time, or to have your data scrubbed from our servers upon request. If you choose to have your data permanently deleted from our server, we will provide you with a written statement certifying that we have completed this action upon your request. Please note, should you choose to remove your data from our servers, your data will still exist within our regular archived backups, but will simply no longer be available in our live database.